The never-ending tide of misinformation

This tweet is a perfect example of the sort of thing that makes me bang my head against my desk:

I have no doubt that this is probably a well-meaning person, justly outraged, who is merely parroting what she has just heard from some source or another. But I am pretty sure that in three years of studying canon law, I would have noticed if the Code actually contained anything even remotely resembling this. 

In all seriousness, however, confusion and misinformation like this make a truly heart-breaking and tragic situation, and its long-festering aftermath, that much more difficult to address and to resolve. I cannot fault the anger and pain directed toward the Church in these times, but I can and do fault those who muddy the waters and confuse the credulous.

Leave a Reply

